Making Fridays More Beautiful [Awww…You’ll Like This!]

So it’s Friday again. Yup, that beloved day of the week. While I’m not usually a big fan of the phrase, the past few days have been kinda stretchy so I’ll say T.G.I.F! Hope it’s been a great week for you as it has for me.

Thinking about it though, a teeny, tiny thought slipped into my heart and I thought, “hey, why not share this with the blogosphere?” I’m hoping you’ll love this and if you decide to practice it, all the better.

So here’s the thing. You know how we always say “Thank God it’s Friday”; we rarely say that about other days (I wonder why…loll). I’m just thinking, what if I (and I’m hoping you too) make Fridays the official day of appreciation every week? Since most of us already feel extra grateful to God at the start of the weekend, why not extend that attitude horizontally- to other people? How about we just turn our Fridays to that special day we appreciate at least one person specially and specifically for being a part of our lives?

I guess you do appreciate the people in your life- on their birthdays, anniversary or any such special occasion. But what I’m proposing is this- how about you no longer wait for those ‘special’ days? How about you take the initiative to make every Friday (or any other day) YOUR special day, not to receive, but to give?Just a thought. They could be a friend, a course mate, a colleague from the office, a parent (when was the last time you really did that?), a mentor, a mentee, you know, just anyone whose presence has made your life richer (not money-wise) and more beautiful.

So this is how I’m thinking about it. It doesn’t have to be anything grand or expensive (though that won’t be such a bad idea if you could pull it off), but it has to be meaningful. A surprise gift with some sentimental value, a long call out of the blues with all the soft trimmings just to say a special ‘thank you’, an impromptu outing (if time, location and resources allow), you know, c’mon get creative with this- I’m not giving you all my ideas..loll. Just make it special, make it memorable, and yes, make it emotional. And do it with no strings attached; no “could you help me with xyz?” at the end of it. Just keep it sincere and give of yourself to another person. Sounds lovely already, right?

We’ve all probably witnessed graveside praises and kind words. Too bad those words came too late. But we’re smarter than that-, aren’t we? We don’t have to wait. Let’s spread the love people and create those beautiful memories- after all, ultimately, our lives are just a collection of memories. So why not take action on this right now? Who do you need to call? What tiny, lovely surprise could you spring up for that special person? See, it’s not about knowing; it’s all about doing. Start scanning through your network of relationships- where would you like to start?

What do you think of this idea? Worth giving a try? If you choose to give this a shot, please let me know how it plays out. I’ll so love to share in your joy.

Happy weekend!

There’s a related post in which I shared my thoughts on weekends. It’s appropriately titled T.G.I…What?! Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Making Fridays More Beautiful [Awww…You’ll Like This!]

Add yours

    1. Ahn Ahn MIA! Loll…I’d have loved to hear from you…it’s all good though. What’s most important is that they know you value their presence in your life.
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Like

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

