Any Wage…

So I love poetry. No, not the kind that requires a code breaker or a PhD in Literature to understand and appreciate; just the easy, breezy kind with witty lines, clever rhymes and a memorable message -and that love led me to this beautiful, beautiful poem.

Infact, I fell in love with it so much I memorized it. Its lines capture a thought-provoking message that’s especially relevant to young people and in the essence of it’s words, I find deep meaning and resolve to live my best life possible. Please read this slowly and thoughtfully. Hope you’ll love it as much I do.

 

I bargained with life for a penny

And life would pay no more

However I begged at evening

When I counted my scanty store

For life is a just employer

He gives you what you ask

But once you’ve set the wages

Why, you must bear the task

I worked for a menial’s hire

Only to learn, dismayed

That whatever wage I’d asked of life

Life would have paid.

– Jessie B. Rittenhouse

 

Thought Point: If YOU could ask life for whatever wage, what would you ask for?

2 thoughts on “Any Wage…

  1. Eforuoku Covenant says:

    This is lovely. .. it has inspired me to write this piece,hope you enjoy it.
    I do not ask life for much
    not for gold,mansion nor fame
    I ask for what’s mine,
    My own share of what i deserve
    and the commonly sought after ‘happiness’
    maybe a few sad hours to keep me human
    but let me have what I have laboured for.
    A table served meal of success
    sound sleep after stress
    Mamma’s hug after school
    and True Love after waiting.

    Like

Leave a comment

