If I Were You, I Would Be Raising The Dead!

Old Hands

Those were her words to me.

I still do not know her name but we all call her Mama 80.We had just left a family’s residence and Mama was in her (usual) storytelling mood. Tale after tale from a time before my birth accompanied every step as we slowly made our way back to her house. You need to listen to older people at least once in a while; you’ld gain alot.

Mama 80, as we respectfully call her is one of those rare grandmothers. At her age, she displays strength that’d frighten many people my age and younger. She walks by herself, still reads without any aid and her words…oh her words, fiery as ever. Her command of the English language surpasses that of most undergrads today (sad but true). That’s Mama 80.

“If I’d known God at this your age”, referring to me, “I’d have been raising the dead by now!” she said, with her trademark force that a stranger could easily have misread as anger. I smiled quietly as I pondered on the depth of that statement. Mama went on to tell me things I probably would never share on this platform but looking back, one thought comes away with me.

THE MISTAKES THAT WE MAKE IN OUR YOUTH MAY EVENTUALLY BE FORGIVEN, BUT THE CONSEQUENCES CAN HAUNT US FOR THE REST OF OUR LIVES.

Trust me, the last thing you want to do in your latter years is flash back to a life of shouldas, wouldas and couldas.

I would have done that.

Maybe I could have made better use of that opportunity.

Maybe I should have listened to God when He told me xyz.

Witnessing the expression of such regrets is painful. Imagine living it.

Dear reader, you have a very precious privilege in your hands right now. It’s the privilege of youth. What have you been doing with it? What moves are you making? What foundations are you laying? Are you living with your eyes on tomorrow as your hands grasp today? Or have you fallen for the deception “I’m still young, I still have time”?

THE NUMBER ONE PROBLEM WITH BEING YOUNG IS NOT KNOWING WHAT IT FEELS LIKE TO BE OLD.

If we could have a foretaste of our latter years, maybe we’d better understand the importance of this precious season in our lives. Maybe. Just maybe.

I really can’t say if Mama 80 would have been raising the dead by now, but who’d ever know? Hmmm. ..think about that- WHO WOULD EVER KNOW?

Now you’re young. Make it count. Today.

Thank you for stopping by. Would love to share in your reaction to this post so kindly share yours in the comments section (anonymous comments ARE allowed too).

Live By Design.

BBM: 514C3DD7

grow360friends@gmail.com

@grow360tweets

You’ll also love the story of Grandma Moses and the Girl at Iyana-Ipaja

Do you know you can now receive notifications of all new posts on Grow360 straight to your inbox? ┬áSimply type in your email address in the appropriate tab on the right (PC users) or at the bottom of the page (tablets and smartphones), click ‘Follow’ and that’s it. I’ll be looking out for you!

How about you get your friends talking about this? Kindly share and take the conversations forward within your circle of contacts. Start something positive TODAY.

5 thoughts on “If I Were You, I Would Be Raising The Dead!

Add yours

  1. Hmmmmmm,
    Just can’t help but wonder the depts of Mama 80’s thoughts.

    Our youth is a phase is where we re @ the peak of our powers and can’t let go of without using it juduciously.

    Thanks Dude for remembering us. Who we are, and what we shuld be.

    Like

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

