The Sunday Dress

I don’t need a necktie to be spiritual!

It was almost 5:30am and I was still yelling inside my head, struggling with what to wear to church today (and you thought only ladies had that problem habit!). It was one of those Sundays.

 With absolutely no desire whatsoever to dress up for church, the regular ‘guys’ suddenly felt like unnecessary burdens. Necktie,   blazer, fancy shoes…aaahhhhh. …not today. Can’t I just show up in flip flops, a casual tee and just worship God freely? Must I dress up for sundays? 

Well, I did manage to suppress the urge for the flip flops and this is how I ended up looking today.

1 in 7: Last time I wore a pair of jeans to a sunday service was 7 years ago! Hmmm...maybe that explains why these guys won't stop calling me 'Pastor' 😁
1 in 7: Last time I wore a pair of jeans to a sunday service was 7 years ago! 😁

Okay, that’s enough about me. Let’s talk about you.

Did you make it to church today? How was it? Hope it was worth the time and effort that went into your eventual attendance.

Speaking of ‘effort’ and thinking about my early morning experience today, a thought bubbles up. It’s the concept of the Sunday dress.

If we’d be completely honest, most of us still have certain clothes we rarely wear on any other day (with a few exceptions of course). They are our specials: very trendy, probably more expensive and relatively newer than the ‘regulars’ (the sparse usage helped with that part). Our equivalent of grandma’s ‘bottom-box’.

You show up in church and everyone is looking like they walked off the pages of a glamour magazine. So bougee.

A minister recently said in his sermon*,

You wear your best because you are coming to God’s house to worship and you sure wouldn’t want to be presented to God wearing anything but your best

But what do you think? Are we really wearing these for God or to look good for people? I’m not saying that’s bad in itself. Afterall, God looks on the heart, not the outward appearance, right? (1 Samuel 16:7). Man focuses on the exterior. Who says we can’t please both? 

But check this out:

For if a person comes into your congregation whose hands are adorned with gold rings and who is wearing splendid apparel, and also a poor [man] in shabby clothes comes in,

And you pay special attention to the one who wears the splendid clothes and say to him, Sit here in this preferable seat! While you tell the poor [man], Stand there! Or Sit there on the floor at my feet!

Are you not discriminating among your own and becoming critics and judges with wrong motives?

James 2:2-4 [The Amplified Bible]

Looking good is never a bad idea, but what do you think? As long as we stay within the borders of decency and decorum,  should “you are addressed the way you are dressed” apply in the house of God?

Is the Sunday dress still a tradition worth sustaining? Are there (or SHOULD there be) any downsides (spiritual or social) to just showing up in church looking regular (albeit neat) on a Sunday morning? I’d love to hear your views on this.

Alright then, go ahead and add your voice to today’s coconversation

*Quoted from Yahoo Answers

Live by Design.

9 thoughts on “The Sunday Dress

Add yours

  1. Lols@ grandma’s bottom-box…….I still have special clothes for sunday aldo I do wear my regular on some days like your Dec 7….one funny thing I always try to do is reserving the first-time wear of my new clothes for church, be it dress or jewelry. *covers face* But I do believe that sunday dressing should be one with which you could appear before a king, talk more of God….Sometimes though I question myself if I’m dressing to meet God or to look good to others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww…. I love the sincerity in your comment! Especially the part about the new jewellery *loll* Nothing bad about looking good to others if you ask me. My problem is, as long as it’s neat and decent, should a dress affect how we are perceived and treated in church? Would love to know: have you personally had or witnessed an experience of biased treatment in church based on appearance? Let’s keep talking Soks.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Even at that you still look like a pastor…lol…i think the tradition of dressing up to church shoud be maintain cos whatever we do as believers with d right motive becomes and the act of worship towards God. . .bt persons should nt be addressed by it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

