Can You [They] Spot The Difference?

It’s pretty interesting the sights one bumps into unexpectedly. Life may be a great teacher but it sure does have a weird way of fixing classes at odd hours. Thankfully though, when we slow down enough to pay attention, we end up better for it and come away with fresh perspectives or timely reminders of truths (almost) forgotten. This was my experience a couple of days back.

So I was in a frantic hurry to get to my destination before the notorious Lagos evening traffic woke up from its midday slumber. With beads of sweat plastered all over my brow and a strained backpack strapped close,  there was no time to waste. The scorching sun and dusty air weren’t helping either. Then I saw this.

Spot The Difference?

Had to be discreet about this shot. ..how would I have explained my way out of this? Loll..

 

So what’s so special about words on a shirt?

Well, with a long history of blatant injustice (I’ve been a victim too. ..story for another day), rife corruption, oppression and nonchalance, the police in my country have built a formidable, not-so-good reputation with the public (I’m trying to be as nice as possible today). Dealing with supposed law enforcement agents requires as much skepticism as with a street hustler.  The distrust is that deep. You may now understand why the inscription emblazoned on her vest jumped out at me.

But it was not about questioning the authenticity behind her claim. It didn’t cross my mind to verify if she really meant what she wore. This was not about her.  It was about me. The cool breeze soothed my sweaty brow and her shirt stirred up thoughts in me.

In all honesty, can people see the difference in me? How much have I let my relationship with the Lord practically affect my regular, go-to-work-and-move-around life? It’s too easy to get lost in religion. Too easy to forget to regularly examine my heart with complete sincerity. Too easy to stop looking out for the difference.

These words challenge me again :

Let your light so shine before men that they may see your moral excellence and your praiseworthy, noble, and good deeds and recognise and honour and praise and glorify your Father who is in heaven.

Matthew 5 : 16 (AMP)

Let no foul or polluting language, nor evil word nor unwholesome or worthless talk [ ever ] come out of your mouth, but only such [speech] as is good and beneficial to the spiritual progress of others, as is fitting to the need and the occasion, that it may be a blessing and give grace ( God’s favour ) to those who hear it. 

Ephesians 4 : 29 (AMP)

Let no man despise thy youth, but be thou an example of the believers in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit,  in faith, in purity.

1 Timothy 4:12 (KJV)

Being a Christian shouldn’t be just about going to church, looking good on Sundays (Check out the exciting blog post, The Sunday Dress) or trying to find out the next big thing God can do for us.

It’s not just about discovering the privileges of our faith, it also requires an understanding of the associated responsibilities. And one of such responsibilities is the call to the different life- 24/7, out there on the streets, in our offices, neighbourhood, classrooms, amongst peers and yes, in the anonymous world of the Internet. We are called to the Different Life. It’s our mission. Its our honour.

So as you go through your day today, keep these words in mind dear friend.

You’ve been called to be different. You have the capacity to be. It’s your mission. It’s your honour.

Live by Design.

BBM : 514C3DD7

grow360friends@gmail.com

@grow360tweets

P.S: Related Blog: This Is Lagos! 

2 thoughts on “Can You [They] Spot The Difference?

Leave a comment

