10 YEARS & COUNTING…(A SHORT STORY)

I have two birthdays.

The second is as important as (if not more)  the first.

Today is my second birthday. February 1 is a very special day to me. On this day, exactly 10 years ago, I knelt, all alone at the dining table of our 2 bedroom home at No. 39 Omagbemi Lane, Ugbori, Warri, Delta State, Nigeria and for the very first time, I

consciously

deliberately

and sincerely surrendered to the Lord Jesus. I cannot say I gave my life to Christ because in reality, I had no life to give. No one outside Christ has a life to surrender because he/she is already dead (ouch but it’s true – 1 John 5:12).

I was dead.

But that Tuesday night, Jesus gave me life.

Born a church boy, I was always engaged in activities in the children’s church – bible quiz, sword drill, child drama, children’s choir and that trend lingered into my teenage years. There was a lot of activity. But that’s just what they were – activities.

Until that blessed night.

I’d been studying the chapter on Victorious Christian Living in Ralph Mahoney’s bible study compendium, The Good Shepherd for a few days and it became clearer that I didn’t have what he was talking about.

I had religion. I definitely had the activities. I had the godly parentage. I even had the look.

But I didn’t have the life. I did NOT have the life.

My heart grew warm as I read descriptions of what it meant to really be saved and to live with a real-time, functional connection with heaven. It was not just about doing things, it was about receiving and living out a kind of life. I wanted that.

Looking back, it’s clear that the Holy Spirit was simply convicting me and leading me lovingly to the place of salvation.

I knelt at that dining table alone and just spoke with all the naked sincerity of a 17-year-old boy. I asked the Lord to save me and I remember saying, “consciously today, I am born again“. There were no flashes of light or anything overtly spectacular. But I knew in my heart, just as I know my name, that my sins were forgiven, that I’d moved from death to life and that Jesus was now the Lord of my life. It was a beautiful, deep-seated, hard-to-articulate assurance within. I think that’s what they call a ‘knowing‘.

The journey so far has been incredible. 10 years in and trust me, I have ZERO regrets. It’s been a great journey with the Lord. A journey of many corrections (you have no idea!), testimonies and victories.

But way beyond the ‘goodies’, my deepest joy is found in the conscious knowledge that my sins are forgiven and that my name is written in heaven. The peace is indescribable. I wouldn’t trade that for anything else.

If you’ve also surrendered to the Lord Jesus, I’d love to hear your salvation story. Care to share with me? The comments section is just below.

Live by Design. 

BBM : 514C3DD7 

grow360friends@gmail.com 

@grow360tweets

2 thoughts on “10 YEARS & COUNTING…(A SHORT STORY)

Add yours

  1. I gave my life to Christ almost seven years ago. I rather forget the exact date as I was a young girl then. It was after a sermon I still remember about what salvation actually is and why we need Jesus in our lives. I remember, after asking so many questions and that night, I decided to give my life to Christ. A living, true relationship with Him continues to be amazing and I’m so very grateful to God for His sacrifice everyday. Congratulations on your 10 year anniversary! God bless you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s really amazing to live this experience, right?! Everyday I’m just so so grateful to Him because my life would have been so ‘jacked up’ without His steadying hand. Thanks for sharing.
      God bless you too.

      Like

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

