This Time Last Year

There’s this little life game I play occasionally. It needs no special equipment, environment or even a play mate. You can play it any day, anytime and anywhere. It’s so simple yet it’s power is amazing. I call it ‘This Time Last Year’.

So here’s how it works.

On any day I choose to ‘play’, I simply take a look at my calendar and flash back to that EXACT day a year ago. I do my best to recall the specific circumstances in my life 365 days gone by. What was happening at the time? How did the situation eventually turn out? Who came into my life between then and now? Who left?

Sometimes, it takes more concentration to dig up the details but they eventually surface.

And here’s what I’ve found.

Life Changes

1. Eventually,  it’ll all make sense.

See, it’s okay to try to wrap your head around every thing happening in the moment. But sometimes, life defies logic – at close range. The events which seem unconnected today may be linked in ways that only become apparent down the road. In such moments of recognition, we nod as understanding dawns “so this is what was really happening all along”.

One of the most reassuring truths in scripture is found in Romans 8:28

We are assured and know that [God being a partner in their labour] all things work together and are [fitting into a plan] for good to and for those who love God and are called according to [His] design and purpose.

-The Amplified Bible

Trust me, I know it doesn’t always feel that way in the heat of the moment, but I’m living proof that it’s all working out for good. It may take more than a year, but you’ll eventually see it’s true.

2. Only few things really matter that much.

Most of the things we fret over today will be completely irrelevant in less than 12 months. You don’t need to do something stupid or crazy just because you’re under pressure today. It. Will. Pass.

Reflect on your own life and you’ll find this to be true. In the long run, only very few things count that much in life. Chillax! It may not be a matter of life or death – though your mind wants you to believe otherwise.

3. God’s strength can take us through.

It’s easy to get all blinded to the operations of a loving heavenly Father in the stormy days. The clouds tend to hide his hands as they bear us up through the hard places. But God is always faithful. His strength,  wisdom and power never fail. Only after we’ve come out on the other side do we reminisce and are humbled by the discovery that he was there all along.

For instance, this time last year, I was in the thick of a rough season in my life. Some weeks were so bad, it took God’s help to keep me out of depression. But that’s not the story today.

You know what these discoveries do? They brings me fresh hope, strength and courage to go through whatever I have to today, knowing confidently that very shortly, I’ll look back and it will all make perfect sense, each piece fitting neatly in this stunning jigsaw puzzle called life.

It’s your turn to play. Flash back to this same time, last year. What was going on in your life? I’d love to share in your memories. Leave me a comment in the comments section below.

 

Live by Design. 

BBM : 514C3DD7 

grow360friends@gmail.com 

@grow360tweets 

Image Credit: @CSLewisDaily

Leave a comment

