DAY 28: WHEN THE GIRLS CAME TO WATCH.

Back then in secondary school, we had a football game virtually every week; sometimes more. We broke up into teams and played until enough of us got too tired to continue and irrespective of the standing score line, the team that scored last won the game.

I noticed it.

When female classmates stuck around to watch, the games were different. Very different.

The guys stayed on the pitch longer, ran faster, tackled harder, dribbled more and generally put up a better performance. Was it a coincident decision to step up or a reflex triggered by the girls? Take a guess.

As we stride towards the finish line in the #GrowMyFire journey, I’m reminded of a similar scenario.

Therefore then since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses [who have borne testimony to the truth], let us strip off and throw aside every encumbrance (unnecessary weight)…and let us run with patient endurance and steady and active persistence the appointed course of the race that is set before us

Hebrews 12:2 (The Amplified Bible)

From the grand stands of heaven, the heroes who have gone ahead are watching.

But they aren’t just watching – they’re cheering you on. They’re saying “keep going! keep running! keep fanning your fire! don’t stop, don’t settle, don’t slow down! You can do it!”.

David is saying “I was the black sheep of my family, the odd one out, but I made it!”.

Esther is saying “I was an orphan, raised by my poor uncle but I graced the palace of the strongest empire of my time”.

Gideon is saying “I was the least in my family, which was the least in my tribe but I led a small army and we broke the back of slavery”.

Moses is saying “I left a life of royalty in pursuit of my fire and three million people were delivered”.

Daniel is saying “I was a slave, with no connections but became the first President in the most influential kingdom at the time”.

Paul is saying “I had a terrible start, I was a cold-hearted murderer but I got a second chance and turned many to true life”.

That’s what they’re saying. Others before you have made it; they’ve tasted the joy of living out their fires. You can too.

You have the rest of your life ahead of you. What will you do with it? August is almost gone. What will you do? Revert to business as usual or dedicate the residue of your days towards the ongoing discovery, development and deployment of your fire?

They are watching. They are cheering. I pray you choose wisely.

Go play your game! Go win!

Live by Design.

BBM: 514C3DD7

grow360friends@gmail.com

@grow360tweets

Leave a comment

