BEST WORDS I EVER READ ON A SIGN

One of the things I love the most about my job is how I get the chance to move around the city of Lagos, Nigeria. I’ve always been a triangular being- work-church-home (replace ‘work’ with ‘classes’ for a summary of my undergraduate days) but since my first full-time job, it quickly became obvious that I’m not the sit-at-a-desk-and-stare-at-a-computer-screen-forever-and-be-happy-about-it kinda guy. I like to mix it up, say 70% outdoors and 30% glued to my desk.

So today happened to be one of those outdoor days and I stumbled on the most beautiful words I’ve ever read on a signpost. Too bad I couldn’t get a picture; we sped past but the message trailed along.

It simply read:

Do the best work of your life. Today.

Alright, I admit. I added ‘today’ in my head but imagine if we made that our daily mantra. Slow down, don’t zoom past that thought. Dwell therein for a minute. Just imagine if this was your dominant attitude to whatever it is you do. Would it make any difference in how your life is unfolding?

Okay, I’m pushing the envelope here because we’re all human and have those bleh days. So how about we make it our ruling disposition MOST days?

Imagine living this way. A friend’s whatsapp update once read “You can’t use up creativity”. That’s deep. Those who ‘save the best for last’ usually don’t last long enough to display that ‘best’.

There are already enough half-hearted players in this game called life. We don’t need one more. How about you stay in the zone of a conscious, personal commitment to deploying the full extent of your abilities in the things you do? Trust me, you won’t regret it one bit.

So that was the priceless nugget of wisdom life threw my way today and I am grateful for it. Be sure you’d be the first to know if it ever happens again.

But while we wait for that, how about you return to your work (whatever it is) with a recharged sense of purpose and resolve to give it your best shot? Study that book thoroughly. Prepare that report meticulously. Practice that skill diligently. At least just for today.

And when tomorrow comes, well, it will be ‘today’ all over again.

Cheers to your great life!

Live by Design.

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

