START WITH YOURSELF

The following words were written on the tomb of an Anglican Bishop in the crypts of Westminster Abbey.

When I was young and free and my imagination had no limits, I dreamed if changing the world. As I grew older and wiser, I discovered the world would not change, so I shortened my sights somewhat and decided to change only my country. But it too seemed immovable.

As I grew into my twilight years, in one last desperate attempt, I settled for changing only family, those closest to me, but alas, they would have none of it.

And now as I lay on my deathbed, I suddenly realize that if I had only changed myself first, then by example I would have changed my family.

From their inspiration and encouragement, I would then have been able to better my country and, who knows, I may have even changed the world.

What a sad commentary if this truly summarised the Bishop’s life!

There’s so much outside our personal control, it’s easy to feel small and powerless in today’s turbulent world.

But right where you are, you can focus on one thing that will never leave you- yourself. Shine your light. Do your best. It starts with you. Before you jet off to go change the world, change yourself. Where no eyes see you, away from the company of friends and bright lights of social media, still do the right thing. Kill your lions. Down your bears. The Goliaths will fall before you.

Live by Design.

Inspired by In A Nutshell, a weekly publication of Covenant Christian Centre.

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

